RSS

LIFE Lessons – Purpose vs Pension

27 Oct

With the TEAM training system and co-founders Orrin Woodward and Claude Hamilton, of LIFE I have learned many life lessons – one in particular is striving for a Purpose and not a Pension.

Have you ever heard, “When you find what you love to do you will never feel like your working?”

Well as a factory worker, welding day in and day out, it wasn’t the most exciting and passionate career path for me. I tolerated it because it paid me, but as Claude says, “You can’t change what you can tolerate.”

I will never forget the day I read my first personal-development book, “The Magic of Thinking Big” by David Schwartz, Ph. D. My mind literally exploded with thoughts of what if’s? And why not’s?  My heart beat was just a little faster, a perk in my step, and I just couldn’t stop talking about the possibilities of one day.

Through this industry, I was introduced to my life coach Claude Hamilton, and what he has brought into my life is a living example of a man chasing down his passion everyday. He has always shown me through his actions that L E A D are the most important letters in LEADERSHIP.

What I experienced working in a welding factory, is so many people are just clocking in and living day by day – the most popular saying was “another day another dollar”. Fridays created an excitement through the plant because everyone was paid Thursday night and they had the weekend off. People would spend more time planning their next 1 -2 week vacations then they did their financial future. Living on Purpose creates the Friday at work feeling everyday! You wake up invigorated to move forward in the direction of your purpose. When you know where you’re going in life all decisions become easier. The saddest part of watching someone just badge in and badge out – waiting for their 30 years and out to retire, is knowing that some of these people never make it to 30 years.

They were put on this earth for a reason and with a time line. This is why I feel so strongly about the LIFE business, it equips people with the courage to start dreaming again, and it helps them seek answers to questions that are deeper than a paycheck.

Somebody should tell us right at the start of our lives that we are dying then we might live life to the limit, every minute of everyday. There are only so many tomorrows – Michael Landon

Because of a small act of courage to read my first personal development book, my mind has shifted from chasing a pension to pursuing my passion. Claude would say to me, “The weak become strong in the presence of the bold.”

Seek out and associate with people who are living their life on Purpose, personal development is not a part-time hobby it’s a life time commitment. The ripple effect that is created from a life that is lived on purpose is exponential. I encourage you to start your journey “leave this life on a purpose not just a pension.

Thank you Claude Hamilton and Orrin Woodward for living your lives on Purpose and making a difference in so many people’s lives.

God Bless,

Wayne MacNamara

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 27, 2011 in closing

 

4 responses to “LIFE Lessons – Purpose vs Pension

  1. Ben Stern

    November 6, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    Awesome Wayne!

     
    • Jamie Doherty

      November 14, 2011 at 12:12 pm

      You opened my eyes from your actions and sticking to your beliefs. Great to see that the cream does rise!

       
  2. Aage & Kathleen Smies

    November 22, 2011 at 9:47 am

    The opportunity that we have been given is surely ours to share and to have a purpose of helping other attain dreams and goals is outstanding. To provide a source of not only credible but proven information to those looking for answers is certainly more than just a business. We have a great responsibility and in turn will create spectacular results for many who lost everything or relied on “others” for their future security. Many thanks to you and Claude Hamilton for leading the charge in Canada.

     
  3. wayne sr. macnamara

    December 4, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    my son as we love and learn each day and watch you grow into a very special person that you are in our lives you will always have that special drive to be best you can. wayne your mother and I are very proud and excited for you and raylene

     

Leave a Reply

 
