RSS

Association and Friendship

03 Nov

We naturally have friends that come and go as we grow up based on similar interests, school, single, married etc. As we get older a lot of times it’s our work environment that we have our closest friendships. When I started my LIFE journey it was the first time I thought about who my friends were based on the future I wanted.

One early morning, at a Leadership Conference in Fredericton NB, I asked my mentor Claude Hamilton, how do I tell some of my friends that their association is not a positive one ?

Claude explained to draw three circles like a target, an inner circle, middle circle, outer circle. What he said was the outside circle represented the public you, Wayne the welder, Wayne the ball player. The middle circle represented the personal you, the people who knew me best, friends/family/wife. The inner circle represented the private you, what you and your Lord knows about you. He explained that the further away these three circles are from each other the more stress you will feel in your life. For me personally, I was a different person in different environments which created a lot of stress. He said, the closer you bring these circles together the less stress you will have in your life.

I never had to tell any of my friends that we were growing apart, it just gradually happened, like it had so many times in the past. It’s a natural process of life to change association based on interests. When I started to grow personally and focus on my future, I started to associate with people who had the values and lifestyles I was looking for.

Today I live a blessed life because; I protected my time and who I associated with. You have probably heard if you hang out with bank robbers long enough you’ll probably rob a bank, or at least drive the get away car!!

Thank you Orrin Woodward and Claude Hamilton for creating an environment in LIFE for people to be able to have the courage to unlock their God-given passions.

You become who you associate with, choose wisely.

God bless, Wayne MacNamara

 
20 Comments

Posted by on November 3, 2011 in closing

 

Tags: , , , ,

20 responses to “Association and Friendship

  1. Alex Nickerson on Life and Leadership

    November 4, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    Amazing post Wayne, I love the part in your post about making all 3 circles as close as possible to and it reduces stress. It makes so much sense. You are a true leader in this world where it is such a rarity today. I can’t wait to hear more amazing information from you.

     
  2. Eric H Stone

    November 6, 2011 at 8:07 pm

    Great post, we all know people who’s circles are spread out like that. What is so amazing about the leaders in LIFE what you see in public is what you see in private.

     
  3. Scott Staley

    November 7, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    Awesome post! What we see in public – is the same person in private – no deception, just you being you. I love that this is what you – and TEAM teach as well. All of the TEAM leaders live with their circles close together. It makes everyone you come in contact with – comfortable, in that they know/sense that (what you see is what you get).

     
  4. Wade

    November 8, 2011 at 1:04 am

    Thanks for this post Wayne, it reminds me to always be thinking to myself……. would I be doing this if the world was watching! Love ya champ!

     
  5. Craig Fleming

    November 9, 2011 at 7:58 am

    This Is an amazing post! I think this is a question that a lot of us have rolling around in our minds. With this perspective, you have answered one of my most important questions! Thank you!

     
  6. Craig riehl

    November 9, 2011 at 9:06 am

    Thanks for the blogpost Wayne. Reading it really concerted my already existing believe that people need to start to just be themselves and not hide behind how other think they should act, or what other will think of them by acting and believing in whatever they may believe or value in life.
    Again thank you so much for the post. I’d also like to add that the illustration is a rear representation on how stress can be created in life by mearly blinding yourself from the truth of you you really are

     
  7. Gracie Hynes

    November 9, 2011 at 11:05 am

    We loved the circles when you explain it to us years ago, we are so blessed to have the friends we have in Life and Team, thank you and Raylene so much for all you have done in our lives, you both helped me see that i deserve success, the mentoring this business brings can help so many people in all the 8 Fs and the value it brings in our lives is unmeasurable.

     
  8. patrick clowater

    November 9, 2011 at 11:32 am

    Wayne you are such an amazing leader, mentor and most of all FRIEND! You have followed exactly what Claude has taught you. All your friends know that your public you is very close to the private you. You where your heart on your sleeve, and people really appreciate your transparency. So many people are fake when in public view,BUT you mu friend are always true and real. God is using you to reach thousaands of people and lead them to truth and ultimately to victory. Thanks for being the best you, you can be.

     
  9. Sam Taylor

    November 9, 2011 at 11:54 am

    Wow! Amazing article. Just what I needeed to learn this week and I don’t think it could have been taight better. Hopefully I will be able to bring these circles closer in my own life. Thankyou for posting on this subject,

    Sam

     
  10. Chris H

    November 10, 2011 at 8:12 am

    This is a great explaination of what we should be striving for. When I think about the times in my life when I was a different person around different crowds, I was more concerned about people from another part of my life seeing me act that way than finding my true self. The Team is a group that I really didn’t have to think about ‘what will they think about me,’ and began to really feel… truely confident.

    Thank you Wayne for your continuing guidance,

    Chris

     
  11. Sharon

    November 10, 2011 at 10:30 am

    Growing up without alot of friends, this principle was hard to come to terms with. But it is so true. Thankyou Wayne for teaching us that we really need to take a cold hard look at who we are. It is so important and so true. The more and more I have started to accept this truth and let people in the less stress I feel. Keeping those circles so far apart in the end only made me sick mentally and physically. Thankyou Wayne & Raylene for being so true, setting the bar and keeping the standard no matter what.

    Sharon

     
  12. Joseph Keller

    November 11, 2011 at 11:21 pm

    As i read the post I see something that should ring true for all but unfortunately we have let go by the way side and it shows within the field of friends that we keep. For the more transparent we are the easier life becomes but with the social media today just how transparent are we. When we look in the mirror is that person the one that everyone else see’s. Well I can tell you that men like Wayne are out there and its time to awaken them. Wayne MacNamara is about to leave a legacy for the world to see and he will lead many to a life of transparency allowing them to open up to have better marriages better finances faith in themselves and to be able to lead a better Life. Wayne and Raylene have only begun so ask yourself are you willing to take up the cause to live a better life for you really are worth it. Wayne, thank you the rippling effect you are just begining to cause for you will awaken millions and are becoming a giant amongst giants. Be the difference you want to see transparency will allow you to do it.

     
  13. postal rates

    November 15, 2011 at 12:10 am

    i love your blog, i have it in my rss reader and always like new things coming up from it.

     
  14. Dave

    November 16, 2011 at 10:00 pm

    Great artical my friend it really brings home the idea that THE TRUTH WILL SET YOU FREE . Feel blessed to share the journey with you and all the leaders .

     
  15. Peter J Artibello (@PeterArtibello)

    December 14, 2011 at 8:23 am

    Wayne,

    Great Blog.
    It is great to see young men like yourself glow with such knowledge and insight.
    If only the mass of men in Canada could see what you have written.

    Merry Christmas,
    Peter

     
  16. Peter Hatvani

    December 18, 2011 at 2:52 am

    Hey Wayne,
    Orrin spoke about you guys here in Australia a few months ago. He challenged the group down under to do what you guys did as a distance group. I remember being at a seminar a while back when you spoke about the circles. You are a true inspiration.
    Merry Christmas
    Peter Hatvani
    Sydney, Australia

     
  17. Vicky Connell

    January 2, 2012 at 11:48 am

    Hey, I am so proud of you and Raylene. The circles are so true. You guys are always there for me and Gavyn. Your an awesome male role model in Gavyn’s life,he looks up to guys so much. So blessed to be your sister in law and Raylene sister.

    Vicky

     
  18. Rhys

    May 14, 2012 at 8:59 pm

    This is officially Legit!@!

     
  19. rico goncalves

    May 14, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    I’ve been part of Team and life and the experience has been amazing. The new 90 Mental Fintness Challenge is such a great way to see where you are mentally and the proper steps to better yourself.

     
  20. Kya Taylor

    May 14, 2012 at 9:59 pm

    MFC is awesome!

     

Leave a Reply

 
