RSS

Entitlement vs Performance in LIFE

15 Nov

In TEAM and LIFE, Orrin Woodward along with the founders of LIFE, have created a culture that rewards performance. So many people have become unwilling to strive for excellence. Today, it’s almost as important for people to get rewarded just for participating versus learning the truth that in life the performers get rewarded.

Some examples of Entitlement Thinking are:

1) I have witnessed kids playing sports and their parents not keeping score of the game. They want to reward every kid equally for just being on the team instead of rewarding the performers on the field. Where will these parents be when their children are in a real life scenario like a job interview and their child doesn’t get picked for the job, nor a reward for showing up. Teach the kids to strive for excellence now and they will later. Teach them the difference between succeeding and failing, let them feel that feeling of failure so they strive not to feel it again. I heard once, our job as adults if to raise responsible adults, not just happy children.

2) My wife Raylene, in her college classes witnessed young men and women asking their teachers how many points they would earn for just handing in their assignment. The scary thing is some professors would give marks for it. What message is that sending. Can you imagine saying to your boss “Hey can you pay me today just for showing up, regardless of my performance?”

Entitlement vs. Performing Behavior

  • Entitlement behavior says; I’m here, I’m alive, we are all equal, reward me the same as the performer. They believe luck plays the most important part of being a winner.
  • Performance behavior says; Can this be done? Is there someone who has done it that can help me? I will learn the skills needed to perform. I will practice over and over so NEVER lower the bar for me, if anything, raise the bar.

What I have learned in the LIFE community building industry is whenever I would reward a non-performer along with the performer, I usually lost both. When I rewarded the non-performer (cause of my feelings/emotions) they never would start Orrin Woodward’s P.D.C.A. (plan, do, check, adjust) process. They had no reason to strive to get better because I would reward their efforts no matter what. Now, because the performer saw me reward the non-performer he started to realize, why should I strive to become better if we both receive the same treatment. This behavior undermines the performer’s belief in themselves. I’m truly thankful today that my mentor/coach Claude Hamilton never done the work for me and never lowered the bar.

Claude has shown me through his example that a performer doesn’t need easy they just need possible!

God Bless,

Wayne Mac Namara

 
19 Comments

Posted by on November 15, 2011 in closing

 

Tags: , ,

19 responses to “Entitlement vs Performance in LIFE

  1. Scott Staley

    November 15, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    The ‘entitlement’ attitude certainly is prevalent today – and it hurts everyone – including those who are rewarded for just showing up – it encourages more of the same types of behavior. I love that we have and promote a performance culture – this is one of the greatest gifts that I’ve received from my association with you, Claude/Lana Hamilton and the many other leaders with whom we’re priviledged to be associated with.

    Life keeps score – and the results show up in our daily lives. Thank you for helping us to be accountable to ourselves and our loved ones so that we can continue to improve our futures – not through entitlement – but based on our results.

    Thanks for everything!

     
  2. Joseph Keller

    November 15, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    Yes how true it comes up all to often and like Scott just pointed out how it hurts everyone and breeds more of the same. Performance based culture, truly getting recognized for the efforts that you have personally put forth and being rewarded for them should be the norm and yet we know its not. Entitlement atitude has gotten are countries to where they are today and if not now when is the time to turn things around. Our children are the future what lies ahead for them in an entitlement society but a life of mediocrity. I want my children to have there fair chance at the american dream allowing them the same opportunities as any other and that they shall have in a performance based culture.
    Life is creating that culture and is awakening the minds of thousands thus allowing them to truly think for themselves. Without the mentorship and materials of Life organization I myself could still be bought into that entitlement lifestyle that was truly hopeless.
    Thank you for the information allowing me to open my eyes to a Life full of hope, a future bright and one that I am so proud to pass on and pay forward to friends and family.

     
  3. Robby Palmer

    November 15, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    Tat was awesome!!! I’m hearing another Policy Council Member here! Hope were hanging in haiwii soon Wayne! You’re a stud!

     
  4. Rhys Plant

    November 15, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    I couldn’t agree more. As a parent with young children its amazing to see other parents actively setting their children up to fail. Creating an entitlement culture is what is causing so many of the societal issues we face today, and it is disgusting! Time to suck it up and earn success! Get in the game and earn it!

     
  5. Wade Hamblin

    November 16, 2011 at 12:21 am

    I remember a talk Chris Brady did from Benjamin Disraeli’s – Cycle of the Body Politic, in this he explained how the cycle of society always has and always will run. From “Bondage” or slavery to “Spiritual Truth” breaking the bondage leads to “Great Courage” from the spiritual truth then comes “Liberty” from having great courage and fighting for it gives “Abundance” pass it on to the next generation without teaching creates “Selfishness” protect what they were given, they don’t know how to make it then setting into “Complacency” I know it’s wrong but I don’t want to get involved, were doing fine turns to “Apathy” I don’t care, whatever, as long as it is not effecting me leading to “Dependence” what can be done for me by the State, those are my rights, then giving us nothing but an option of “Bondage” back into slavery. It saddens me to know that if something isn’t taught and truth isn’t spread into the world that our so called “rights” which is Entitlement mentality, will be taken, actually will be given up by us and my Grandkids could actually be slaves! Thank you for being part of an organization that its sole purpose is to spread truth into people’s lives!! You and Raylene are making a difference!

     
  6. Sharon L

    November 16, 2011 at 10:24 am

    It is truly amazing how much I have allowed the wrong thinking to dictate my life. Thanking Wayne for always telling us the truth even though it is not what we want to hear. I have some competitive sports players in my sons, and because of team and life they are learning these princples that Wayne is talking about.
    I always had good intentions for my children. But my actions was leading them down the wrong path.Thankyou for helping me to raise my four future men.

    Sharon L

     
  7. johnklewis

    November 16, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    Great thoughts Wayne! As the media begins it’s relentless assault on the consumer for the next 2 months, parents and children will be encouraged to purchase beyond their ability because “they’re worth it”. But their worth is so much greater than the latest toys or electronics. One practical application of the PDCA process you referred to in your article would be to take a few minutes this week and go find our January credit card statements and remind ourselves how we felt when we received that bad boy in the mail!

    One of the 3 Keys to Wealth is Delayed Gratification and your mentor, Claude Hamilton, is probably the best example of living out that principle and refusing to fall into the entitlement mindset, despite the incredible success that Claude and Lana have achieved.

    Thanks Wayne for all you do!

     
  8. Craig Riehl

    November 18, 2011 at 7:50 am

    Wayne this post could not speak more truth. I seen this exact senerio when I played hockey; throughout my carreer I did indeed witness an entitlement mentality from many parents. This upset me as a child because of how many hours, and how hard I would work to be the best; while other kids. Layed back and pretended to work so hard but it was so aperent that they had not and were not. So inturn why did I keep striving for excellence in the game when an entitlement attitude would have made me an equal? Couple reasons. I didnt want to be equal at all, I wanted to be the best and I loved the sport. I didn’t care if they wanted to just float by. Maybe it was me who should have helped them see the excellence inside of them.
    Thank you Wayne for this amazing post

     
  9. christophenolan

    November 20, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    I love this blog. I think if you do the performance then you can have the entitlement as long as your entitlement is earned and never gets bigger then your performance. On the other hand anyone that truly performs in LIFE does not do it for entitlement.

     
  10. Dave Smale

    November 20, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    Hey Wayne. Great stuff. I could not agree with you more. More and more people have no desire to work hard.When you hear ads for bad credit, no credit, or file for bankruptsy it’s easy,your entitled to it. There is no drive to work hard and improve yourself.Very proud to be part of your organization and LIFE.

     
  11. gregjohnson on leadership

    November 20, 2011 at 11:42 pm

    Wayne,

    I couldn’t agree more!

    It seems we forget that in order to win we must compete and that we are not guaranteed anything just because we feel we are owed a win. Life owes us nothing!

    When we are given an unearned win we lose the pride that comes from accomplishment. That is the biggest loss of all.

     
  12. Rose MacDonald

    November 21, 2011 at 11:22 pm

    Reading this makes me look back on life to see the examples of entitlement behavior we have personally seen. I can remember my husband Dumon going to work, getting pulled over by a coworker and being told to slow down, so that everyone else wouldn’t look bad. Imagine that; someone in a government job clinging to his entitlement to work slow! And being bold enough to want to lower the bar for someone striving to excel!

    Dumon for years was driven by the question Wayne posed “Is there someone who has done it that can help me?” In conventional business the answer was a resounding “no.” Because we had no uncle or dad already in the business, we made a decision that costed $60000! And countless other bad decisions!

    We are very fortunate to have met Wayne and Raylene who have great results in many areas of life and are willing to work with us and hold the bar high. I like a high bar; but I’ve never been good at holding the bar high for others. But from learning from blogs like this I will learn how to hold the bar high for myself and anyone I have influence over. Rather than rewarding the non-performer (be it myself or someone else)

     
  13. Sandra Saunders

    November 23, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    I really don’t understand why anyone should think that society owes them anything! We live in a “free” country and therefore, have freedom of choice. The choice to win, loose or quit! There were brave men and women who fought to give us that choice so why disregard and disrespect this fact by thinking that we are entitled to more! What more could we ask for then to have others give their lives for OUR freedom to choose? To anyone who feels entitled I say…”Take your thumb out of your mouth, and go show your ancestors that they did not die in vain!”
    Proud to be in the fight with you (even though I am in a different Province!).

     
  14. patrick clowater

    November 28, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    Wayne, you could not have said it in better. Julie and I do our best to never lower the bar so our 3 kids can have an easy ride. We know that life will be tough on them once they leave the comfort zone of our house.

    We obviously want them to have a great childhood, however that does not mean they get everything handed to them. We expect them to earn everything they get, so they learn to appreciate what they have. I am not just talking about material possessions either. We learned through the Team environment to teach them to be thankful for all the blessing God has given us and them. We have great friends and a God that loves us and we want our kids to do everything to please God, not their friends and neighbours.

    We know that the more they hang around you and Ray,Claude and Lana, and the other LIFE leaders, the more their lives will be influenced in a positive manner.

    I don’t just expect me kids to win every event they participate in, BUT I do expect them to work their hardest and give 100%. If they follow these habits they will have a much greater chance of winning.

    God Bless Wayne and keep spreading the truth, people need to hear it.

     
  15. claudehamilton

    December 2, 2011 at 10:16 am

    Wayne, thank you for this post and for the kind words. Through commitment and belief, anything IS possible and I am continuing to witness it throughout the LIFE community. This makes me very proud.

     
  16. Rob Crichlow

    December 12, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    In the early years of my first software company, I was approached by a young programmer who began to explain to me that he wanted a raise in pay. When I asked him why he thought he deserved a raise, he said, “My friends are making more money than I am.” At first I thought he was kidding, but he was serious. Obviously, he didn’t get his raise. However, it opened my eyes to how people’s thinking was off track. My income was totally based on results. He wanted his income based on who his friends were. The message you are presenting is right on target. The LIFE business represents a way for being paid for improving yourself and others. Thanks for leading Wayne!

     
  17. Chad Waters

    December 17, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    Paid for performance is definatly better then some corperate check or just the right place at the right time as it will never really last as most people are starting to discover. Lowering the bar is not acceptable unless we want leaders who are not really leaders! Before knowing there was even a difference in the world I always faught to be at the top. Now in LIFE we are giving a chance to improve our capibilities and able to achieve as high as were willing to learn. Getting to learn more from such great leaders like yourself is a defiate assett and priveledge and proud to know and learn from such a great person!

     
  18. Chris

    December 21, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    You see a lot of adults with the entitlement behaviour who have been doing the same thing for many years. At my past job I worked with some carpenters that thought “hey, I showed up didn’t I?” It’s crazy how much people try to justify their little bits of action and expect a lot in return. You laid it out nicely in this post Wayne, and I hope more people will read the information LIFE has to offer.

     
  19. Pierre and Lise Richard

    December 28, 2011 at 10:01 am

    Great reminder Wayne that our goal should be to raise responsible adults, not just happy kids. It’s so easy to let them get away with certain things and spoil them because they’re so cute but what can be cute at 4 years old won’t be cute at 24!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
