RSS

Are you leading yourself in all 8 areas of LIFE? What about Fitness?

02 Jan

With so many of us striving to become better in LIFE, many times you hear “I don’t have enough time to work out and get into shape”. Many years ago I started a quest to see what my body could do under high physical demands of competitive bodybuilding and strength training.

Me waiting to go onstage for my first Bodybuilding Competition

I do not want anyone to think I have all the answers to Fitness, although I do remember what it felt like to shed pounds, gain lean muscle and hit a level of fitness that I first thought was unattainable. My challenge and question to myself and to all of you is…

Who will start their lifestyle change to become a more physically fit person in 2012?

As I discuss some of the key things I have done in the past (and are currently doing again), I want you to know I have attained a lot of this information from magazines, books, DVDs and online from sources that are the best in the field and with the results I wanted.

Let’s begin by stating only 25% of adults in North America participate in vigorous exercise 3 or more times a week. Almost 75% of adults are overweight or obese!!!!  Obese people have a 10-15% increase in premature deaths from all major health issues. The majority of deaths are attributed to some sort of cardiovascular disease. Many health professionals today attribute cancer, diabetes and mental health issues, such as depression, to deficiencies in fitness and well being.

The only true way to achieve a healthy and fit lifestyle is to make necessary changes to our everyday life, in these 3 key areas:

There are 7 key components within these three areas to focus on in order to achieve overall good health, fitness, and well being:

1/ Cardiovascular/Aerobic Conditioning

2/ Strength Training and Muscular Development

3/ Core Stability

4/ Stretching

5/ Nutrition and Supplementation

6/ Mental Rest and Relaxation

7/ Sleep

It’s very easy to write these seven components down on paper, however it is not always easy for me to stay focused on the reason why I’m doing it. There are many daily distractions that can keep me from following these components. My biggest reasons for wanting to improve my overall health are for my wife, family and friends and wanting to be able to fully enjoy every moment with them.

Muhammad Ali hated every minute of training but said to himself “Don’t quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion.”

Remember, when things seem difficult or even impossible, that is the time to cement your commitment, because there is NO substitute for perseverance.

The human body is designed to be vital, robust, active and brimming with physicality. That urge to run, fly, swim and simply do, is part of the joy of being human. Health is not ours if we don’t respect it. Robert Kennedy said “ask yourself this, would you sell any part of your body (leg) or (arm) for money? Of course not!! The greatest possession we have is our bodies, so let’s take care of it.”

In order to build that lean body we have always wanted you will have to dedicate yourself to training and eating proper nutrition. Motivation is that significant element we must have in order to push through everyday good or bad.

Motivation check list:

1/ Set your goal – Immediate short term and long term. Create a dream board to help you visualize yourself.

2/ Record your work – Photos show changes. Writing is Validating.

3/ Celebrate the small stuff – Small results equals small reward.

4/ Celebrate the big stuff – Goals met equals big reward.

The process of being overweight and unhealthy took sometime. In many cases like mine years and years of poor eating habits and lack of exercise helped me get this way. Be patient and let little changes add up to big changes.  Eating smaller portions, multiple times a day is key to weight loss. Two thirds of our body is water, drink a lot of water daily. Active people should try to drink 2 to 3 liters a day.

We all have 24 hrs in a day, 8760 hrs a year. Winners and losers both live their lives day in and day out, the difference between success and failure and between having the quality of life you want and settling for less than you deserve, lies in the choices you make in your daily habits.

Together we can strive for better overall health and well being.

Hope this helps on our journey together!!

Wayne MacNamara

 
23 Comments

Posted by on January 2, 2012 in closing

 

Tags: , ,

23 responses to “Are you leading yourself in all 8 areas of LIFE? What about Fitness?

  1. Clint Fix

    January 2, 2012 at 4:29 pm

    Awesome post Wayne! Fitness has become a large part of my life, and people that have achieved the results that you have are inspiring. I actually just wrote a blog on fitness as well…it seems to be a big topic around this time of year! You definitely hit some key points that I left out. It would be great to hear more from you on this subject!

    Thanks!

     
  2. Rhys

    January 2, 2012 at 5:34 pm

    Excellent! Fitness is often overlooked in society and it is scary to see peoples lack of personal discipline ignored and often times encouraged. The prevalence of obesity in Canada and the United States is something that people need to be concerned about. As a parent with two young children, I want them to grow up healthy and able to enjoy the bodies that God gave them, not to be encumbered by excess weight and lack of fitness. Fitness is something to be strived for and celebrated, not lusted after and dreamed about. It takes work as you said, but the reward, as in LIFE, is well worth it.

    Thanks Wayne

     
  3. Colleen

    January 2, 2012 at 6:18 pm

    Wow! Thanks for this timely info, Wayne. Lenny and I are both struggling with getting back into our best shape before things get out of hand. For us it is like anything else. We have so many things competing for our time and energy. Prioritizing fitness can fall by the wayside but your cardiovascular stats show that to let our fitness go would be highly irresponsible. We have people counting on us to be healthy and capable!

     
  4. Cally

    January 2, 2012 at 6:50 pm

    I met Wayne when he was 15, and to call him my brother, as he is married to my sister, is something that I’m extremely proud of!! To know him then and to know him now, to see how his life has grown in leaps and bounds, both personally and professionally, doesn’t surprise me one bit!! When Wayne decides to do something and he feels it’s worth doing, there are no excuses or I can’t, there are only solutions and I can!!!! He doesn’t let the negative people and the nay Sayers get in his way!! So if getting in shape or more physically fit or what ever your goals are, just look at his picture and know that he isn’t just lucky and he was born that way, he worked his butt off and didn’t give up!!! So just don’t give up and your goal will be reached!! Ask Wayne if working hard is worth the results, for he has reached so many of his goals, and he is still working hard now for more, which I know he will reach!! He will tell you 100% it is!!! So look at Wayne’s picture and make that your solution for your goal this year!!!

    Luv ya buddy

     
  5. Scott Staley (@swjstale)

    January 2, 2012 at 6:59 pm

    Success principles are true regardless of the field of application. I think many (including myself) people take their most prized possessions for granted until its often too late. Claude often says that only the disciplined are free- and I for 1 want to exercise self discipline before I’m externally disciplined via failing health. Thanks for the reminder and inspiration.

    Perhaps a bit of competition for weight loss,body fat loss, and or muscle weight gained would help us to focus?

    Scott

     
  6. Steph

    January 2, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    Great blog Wayne,

    Its amazing how many people completely disregard fitness as important, yet there are so many illnesses pertaining to poor health, lack of exercise, obesity, etc. You make a lot of great points in this blog, and I think we all ought to have a motivation check list like the one you have layed out here. Since I started focusing more on my fitness last year, I have felt 100% better mentally. Its time that we, North Americans, learn to discipline ourselves and get physically and mentally fit!

     
  7. Michael Spoenlein

    January 2, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    Awesome blog Wayne! Love reading them, your knowledge helps me strive for better.. I’m glad I know and have such an amazing role model like you in my life, your blogs give me extra motivation and positive energy to my everyday life, thanks for every thing bud! Keep the blogs coming, thanks!

     
  8. Robby Palmer

    January 2, 2012 at 9:57 pm

    That was great Wayne. Wonder if you would be willing to shine more light on the diet? I think I have a very similar build as you. I’m 6’5″ and 270 pounds. I know you’re not that tall, but physical stature seems about the same. So, I figure I could probably follow a routine that you get results with.
    Diet is where I feel I lack the most. I believe nutrition is so important, but there is an exhausting amount of information out there, and a lot of it contradicts. Where do you find truth and results?
    Thanks for your time.

     
  9. Rose

    January 2, 2012 at 10:15 pm

    It strikes me thinking about success, how the principles transfer. The keys to building wealth are longterm vision, delayed gratification and the power of compounding. Very applicable to fitness as well. Thanks for thoughts coming into the New Year. Heres to an amazing 2012!

     
  10. Patrick Clowater

    January 3, 2012 at 11:12 am

    Great article my friend! It always amazes me on how we can develop the bad habits way easier than the good habits. I suspect it is because the bad habits give us immediate short-term gratification. When you and I set the goal to lose 25 pounds before our trip to California,we followed the exact steps you stated above. It was not easy to follow the plan, but man was it worth it. Discipline is so key in all areas of our life, and I need to consciously make an effort to be more disciplined in all the 8 F’s. This is a new year and my goal is to become a better me and be the example that my friends and family want to follow.

    God Bless you Wayne

     
  11. Gracie Hynes

    January 3, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    I really enjoy reading this blog, with discipline and a plan anything is possible, it’s easy to say i want to be more active but putting a plan in place and disciplining yourself to follow through is another story with your outline steps to follow i believe anyone can accomplish their fitness goals, with our second child on the way i really want to discipline myself to more healthy and fit so i can be with my children in a more active way and with your steps i know i will be.

     
  12. brianalexander1exander

    January 3, 2012 at 1:46 pm

    Wayne, you and Raylene are an inspiration to both Tanya and myself.With the help of Joe and Marianne, and the both of you i know that dreams do come true and have committed my mind body and soul to build this business and make my own dreams come true. Fitness should be important to all of us with all the chemical additives in our daily intake, we should all be aware of the possibilities if we just have a closer look at them.

    Thanks for being there for us all !!!

     
  13. Paul Howran

    January 3, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    Just started reading your blogs and would like to thank you for all the good information and inspiring me to become a better me for a better tomorrow………..2012 will be all are year , looking forward to more opens with you Ray and more blogs and advice………….YOUR STUDENT and FREND

     
  14. Aage Smies

    January 3, 2012 at 3:33 pm

    I want to thank you for this blog. I am one of those who will join you in working towards better results as I too want to enjoy the time I have with family and friends and you hit the nail on the head with each sentence. Each time you share with us, make me proud to be within your leadership team and that I can call you my friend and mentor.

     
  15. Sharon Lalor

    January 3, 2012 at 4:01 pm

    Fitness has been one of our family strength. Wayne has definetly challenged us to bring it to the next level. If I could apply this discipline to many areas of my life. I would be so furthur ahead. This is the perfect start to the new year. I can say through experience the better your physical health is the better you are able to handle the stresses of life. Thankyou for giving us practicul complete ways to take our fitness life seriously.

    Sharon

     
  16. Dave Smale

    January 3, 2012 at 5:31 pm

    Great article Wayne. The line in your blog ” NO substitude for perseverance” is so true. Kieran and I have have learned that from you and Raylene. Better health leads to more confidence, leads to better attitude, leads to better LIFE. Thanks Wayne

     
  17. Chad Waters

    January 3, 2012 at 6:20 pm

    That is the key putting time aside for any goal!, but without fitnes there is no reason for any goals as you won’t live to see them. Yes I’m over weight! I don’t blame my accident, but my doctor told me I would never run again…. I currently run 6 miles a day (120 miles a month) it takes commitment as anything does!
    I have a long uphill battle but with big goals 5 of them to see them all married and have families of there own. This is why when they told me I couldn’t – I did! 6 miles I’m not bragging its just necessity and I have a long path to get back were I was before my accident.
    We all do it for different reasons…. But find one and just do it for your self or your loved ones this is the most important catigory because with out it the rest won’t come together for long
    Chad Waters
    Leadership Developement

     
  18. Chris

    January 4, 2012 at 8:10 am

    Great post Wayne! I am glad we are getting some good information on OVER ALL health. Society has become overweight, and lost focus on the average healthy weight and body size. Taking into account nutritional and psychological with physcial is important in our overall health and well-being. While going through University I loved going to the gym 4-5 times/ week because I loved the feeling of being fit along with the satisfaction I had of exerting myself. My body just felt good. I didn’t think I would ever stop going both because I knew how good it was for me and how good I felt when done, but once I started my first job, I stopped going. I fell into the rut that everyone talks about; not enough time and priority. Granted my job had some physical components, I wasn’t eating healthy. Now, with continuing to get new information and a switch of jobs, I am working toward prioritizing all three areas of fitness back into my LIFE.

    Thanks Wayne.

     
  19. Wade Hamblin

    January 4, 2012 at 11:01 am

    Fantastic Blog Post Wayne!! It amazes me that someone can look the way you did in that picture, you are a true sign of success in any area that you work towards. Thank you for being so passionate about sharing and leading people to truth in the 8Fs in LIFE.

     
  20. Melissa (@SurfStokd361339)

    January 5, 2012 at 10:41 am

    Great post Wayne, it’s great to see others making fitness goals a priority – too many people today are full of excuses.

     
  21. Joseph Keller

    January 5, 2012 at 12:18 pm

    Man I love how these blogs get you thinking I know for me this is my major one my health. Over the holiday season I have tended to reveal a little bit more of my self not stepping away from the table. The other eye opener is the number of parents and now my friends that are now starting to have health problems many that could have been avoided, so why do we wait until its too late. Thanks for the reminder for today I will start with a walk around the block and passing up on that bag of chips. All too often like in everything else people are just not committed enough and they quite just before the results start to show. There is no better time than now to buddy up make a difference have someone to hold yourself accountable to. I know it wont be easy for nothing good ever is but you my friend have shown me time and time again that if you put your mind to it anything is possible, so long as you have the right information and people to guide you. The mind is terrible thing to waste and my waist could use to lose so I will take your info and put it to use. For 2012 is still only the beginning of the rest of my life and I plan on enjoying it with my kids and my wife.
    So don’t put it off, today is the day for time waits for no man and before you know it your in a fight that you may possibly lose. Get a game plan take a stand and make 2012 your year for Health & Wealth.

     
  22. christophenolan

    January 7, 2012 at 2:30 pm

    This post is great Wayne. I know I could lose some 150lbs and today is a good day to start. I have been working out my mind, it is about time I work out my body. the first step is the hardest. You made some valid points, a healthly body will help keep a healthy mind.

     
  23. Natalie

    January 25, 2012 at 9:49 pm

    What an inspiring post Wayne! I am very excited to share with you that I have been participating in a research study at the university and I achieved my personal best when doing a fitness test. I don’t say this to brag but rather to tell you because I attribute this success to the information I am learning through being involved in LIFE. I knew I was learning a lot since we have been involved with TEAM (four months) but I had underestimated how much I have been absorbing through advice from people like Jenn and Mark Paul, or from books about the power of the subconscious mind. I have participated twice in this research study and the people at the lab were so impressed they asked me why the difference in improvement. I believe I did better because you coached Rhys and I to use motivation to spur us to action. Through LIFE I have been encouraged to live ‘in the zone’, intentionally and for excellence so I was determined to try my hardest. When being tested I could not help but think about Orrin Woodward’s stories of how he pushes himself such a when trying to swim distances underwater. I thought about how Orrin teaches to fuel criticism (personal or from others) into energy. I remembered that the last time I participated in this study I did poorly — so I was determined to do better. I also tried to use my time wisely and I prayed while on the treadmill. My next goal is to work on eating better and use my time wisely so that I can get to the gym regularly. Thanks for the information you have given us all.

     

Leave a Reply

 
